Bellarine Rail Trail Run

Standard

The longest run…so far

The weather forecast for today was for heavy rain. In the planning was at least two different outfits, depending on what it was like when we parked the car. The whole family was taking part in the 17k run from Drysdale to Queenscliff. When we arrived it was overcast, and out of the many runners, most just had on singlets and shorts. I stuck with what I was wearing (RunJunkEe Singlet and a Skirtsports Skort). I was also wearing my waterproof jacket and carrying with me my own nutrition and hydration.

There were two starts to our event today. One of 34k and one at 17K. The start of the 34k race was underway and we proceeded to the train to take us to our start 17k away. It was a long bumpy ride, but let us see the terrain we would be running on our way back. The train took approximately 45 minutes to get us to our destination where we met with more of our running buddies. It was a quick wait in line for the Portapotti, and then it was time to go.

I started the run with a friend and blogging buddy @macgirlrunning and we chatted about our recent activities and our running plans for the future. We stayed together for the first 6k and then she was off, leaving me in her dust…

I plodded along at a speed I’d practised in training and enjoyed every minute of the wonderful scenery. At one point, the cows were at the fence watching me. No signs of any other animals and, after a while, I was on my own with nobody else in sight. Every now and then, a 34k runner would pass me and cheer me on. The camaraderie among the runners was awesome in such a small field…I believe only about 300 total. Everyone who passed had words of encouragement, even the “you’re nearly there” was welcome. The trail was busy with dog walkers, cyclists and other runners not taking part in the event.

At the 11k mark I was alone, no-one in front and nothing behind me…I knew I could finish as I’d managed 14k a few weeks before and it wasn’t that bad..(!!) I had no idea where I was going, or what turn to take, and thankful that every now and again a Bellarine Rail Trail sign would pop up, and I knew I was heading in the right direction. Then, at the 15ish K mark, I spotted my hubby, who had finished and then come back out to see where I was. He then ran with me back to the finish line, which I was extremely happy to see.

I was also lucky enough to have a cheer squad there at the end. My son, my running buddy Gill, and a few people from our local running group. In total, it took me 2:38:25 to complete the (nearly) 17K and I was (just) NOT LAST…

This is one run I will definitely do again. A small, very well run event in beautiful scenery. Well done to all who took part & many thanks to the event team for a fabulous day.

NOW WHATS NEXT FOR anothermedallingmother

Watch this space…

3 thoughts on “Bellarine Rail Trail Run

  1. I’ve heard this is a lovely event, but have never done it. Might have to add it to the list.

    I’ve had runs when I haven’t seen anyone in front of me or behind me. It can be an eerie feeling, but I like to enjoy my events, and not stress about racing them.

    Great post, thanks for sharing it on fit bloggers.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have mixed feelings about the rail trail there. I did a PB Events Queenscliff to Drysdale event last year and a man had a heart attack on the route. It was really scary. Thankfully he lived but not before about 8 or 9 runners had to do CPR on him waiting for the ambos. I feel like I have unfinished business there though. Good running to you!!! Sounds like you did yourself proud and heck I’ve been on my pat Malone in races many times. No shame in that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

