Dead last

Standard

Today, I was dead last… but that is ok, as it was part of the plan. Today, I was a volunteer at parkrun (a free, weekly, timed, 5k event) in the role of “tail walker”. Today, I had the best fun ever. Today, I was given a multitude of “hi 5’s” by runners of all shapes, sizes and, of course, speeds… Today, my speed, time or position did not matter, as long as I was dead last… well, someone has to be, and today… it was me… I am, an Aussie Backpacker…😂😂 (see what I did here) … thanks for that, Jo Mac.

Torquay parkrun launched with 374 runners, from various parts of Victoria, all sharing the love of one thing… running and parkrun. We had celebrations from @macgirlrunning who was enjoying her 100th parkrun. (Head on over and read her blog… macgirlrunning.wordpress.com) birthdays and anniversaries. There were runners from Essendon Black & Red, Melton City Runners and my own running club, Point Cook Runners. Runners travelled from as far afield as Inverloch parkrun, Albert & Altona Beach. The weather was beautiful with clear, sunny skies and the view over the bay was tremendous.

I don’t consider myself to be a parkrun “tourist”, but, Coach G (my hubby) is Territory Director for parkrun looking after West Melbourne to the Surf Coast. Because of this role, I get to travel around, completing different parkruns, and help to set up course measurements for new events. We have a few massive launches in the coming weeks, but, Saturday 19th August will be a special event, co hosted by parkrun, Medibank and fitness guru Michelle Bridges. This will be at Brimbank park in Keilor, a western suburb of Melbourne.

See you there…

anothermedalmum

Leave a Reply

